Super-TNT.Com

The Best Computer Tips and Tricks
Subscribe

Enable or Disable Secure LogOn CTRL + ALT + DELETE in Windows 7

April 24, 2013 By: Jono Category: Windows 7

secure logon ctrl + alt + delete

Using secure logon also provides an additional layer of security for your systems and here I’ll show you how to enable or disable secure Logon CTRL + ALT + DELETE on Windows 7. If your computer is using secure logon, it means there is extra security on your Windows 7 computer. With secure logon you can ask the user to press CTRL + ALT + DELETE before logging on to the Windows logon screen, this ensures that the authentic Windows logon screen appears and protects the system from programs that imitate password information.

If the previously discussed about security logon attempts failed with Account Lockout Threshold.  Now following the steps to enable or disable secure logon CTRL + ALT + DELETE on your Windows 7 computer.

How to Enable or Disable Secure LogOn CTRL + ALT + DELETE

  1. To get started, click on the start button > in the search box, type netplwiz and press Enter.
    open netplwiz
  2. When the new window opens, click on the Advanced tab. Then you will see the secure logon at the bottom.
    • To enable Secure logon, check the box “Require users to press Ctrl + Alt + Delete”
    • To disable Secure Logon, clear the checkbox “Require users to press Ctrl + Alt + Delete”.

    require users to press ctrl alt delete

  3. If the setting is grayed out, go to the Local Security Policy, from the Start button > in the search box type secpol.msc and press enter.
    open secpol.msc
  4. In the left pane, expand Local Policies > click on Security Options. In the right pane, double-click on “Interactive Logon: Do not required CTRL + ALT + DEL”.
    security options interactive logon

    • To enable Secure Logon, put a dot on enabled
    • To disable Secure Logon, put a dot on disabled.

    ctrl alt del logon windows-7

Disable secure logon CTRL + ALT + DELETE create security holes. CTRL + ALT + DELETE can only read by a Windows system, so it ensures that the information in the dialog box Windows logon screen can only read by Windows. This can prevent malicious programs from gaining access to the computer.

Leave a Reply